Sowing in the City —

you can tell I took this, right?

you can tell I took this, right?

Fields of concrete and asphalt
Stretch into the horizon
Glistening silvery blue
Under flickering rays

Today, I think I’ll be a farmer,
walking my rows of pots
three tomato plants
crowded together
bravely blooming

one tiny green
finger tip
plump and round
disintegrates smog
and traffic

turns concrete and asphalt
into reaches of heaven
the warm, sweet, sour flesh
of Roma summer.

~LD

NaPoWriMo ended without me. Alas. Still, I’m out here. Doing the thing. Waiting for tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

