Shylock on Guard — NaPoWriMo #20

my very own sylvester scared-y cat

my very own sylvester scared-y cat


At the crack of a car door closing
I’m off – no cars belong here –
I slink along the wall
that curves into my blue cavern
where there are places to hide
and I know I’m safe

From my perch I hear strange voices
Laughing, talking, singing.
I watch shadows move,
twisted and grotesque,
bent as they are against
cold, white squares of floor

The dusky scent of smoke
creeps effortlessly
invading my space
and rousing me, tempting me
the red smell of flesh
forcing me from the edge of the bed

to the edge of danger and possibly snacks.

~LD

Leave a Reply

