Perchance

Plunging into National Poetry Writing Month using the NaPoWriMo prompt for today [if you’re interested in playing too, check out the site: http://www.napowrimo.net/ ] Choose the first line of a poem and go from there. The poem I started with is Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s “Hymn to the Night.” Now that I’ve borrowed his first line, I’ll go back and read his piece. This one was a fun and familiar theme for me, but I think (perhaps) I found a new image, possibly two. Enjoy!

I heard the trailing garments of the Night;
wrapping myself in her rustling hem of stars,
I eased out along the milky path of dreams,
a way so thick with experience
that it curdled up between my toes,
soothing tender flesh.
I pulled her cloak tight about my shoulders,
and slid down the length of a seam on galactic tide
where I drifted in time to her dream Dance
until she furled loose the tail of her cape,
dropping me into the embrace of Morning.

~LD

Leave a Reply

